top of page

Recent Posts

Archive

Tags

Bodyweight Training Progress

I <3 Handstands

A look at my Training

Yah.... It's true.


I fell in love with bodyweight training ever since I started breakdancing way back in my early teens. There was something so cool about having crazy body control and flexibility to me that training and working out began to make more sense. I developed a purpose for my training and was instantly hooked on progressing with bodyweight exercises overtime...


Attempting to tilt toward the floor (like going back to a push up position)

I re-started my training officially about 4 months ago after spending a lot of time regaining some lost flexibility, endurance, and movement patterns I once had down pact (or at least better than my present capabilities).


Prior to this, I was diagnosed with a condition called hypogonadism that took me out of the game for about 2 years. (I had a very serious health scare which caused a cascade of endocrine issues such as extremely low testosterone, low thyroid, low free testosterone, etc. - the struggle was real people).


Prior to this diagnosis, I had developed a very good foundation of your basic bodyweight skills (pushup, pull up, dip) but didn't necessarily care to progress any further.


This time around, however, I'm taking all the knowledge gained from my studies and experiences to progress even further than where I was before. I'm talking going super sayain, nah'm sayin?

To start things off, my programming has been pretty solid after sitting for a week and mapping out my training.

Two upper body days, 1 weighted lower body day, one gentle yoga or movement workout, and one day of conditioning work - usually boxing - that incorporates a lot of leg volume and more sport specific drills (see below).

Monday

Push/pull

Tuesday

Lower Body with an emphasis on boxing & running.

Wednesday

Push/pull with a medium/light intensity

Thursday

Gentle yoga or movement

Friday

Lower Body with an emphasis on barbell work

Saturday

Recovery Conditioning Session.

Sunday

Eat donuts... just playing, I rest.

I do this for a 4 week mesocycle, followed by a week of deloading.

During these 4 months I've:

  • added 20lbs to my dips.

  • added 25lbs to my push ups.

  • increased time spent in a strict hand stand

  • increased reps/sets for bar work (pull ups).

  • better L-sit mobility

Injuries also have been nonexistent (thanks to good rehab & pre-rehab practices) even with intensity & volume increasing each week.

Overall, I'm really excited about the progress here which brings me to an important lesson I've learned in an attempt to gain back what I've lost.

Patiences + Having Fun is Always a Winning strategy to have.

Also, spending a long time to get my joints ready and to re-learn proper pull up form has done wonders for my progression and I can't stress that enough.

It's one thing to do the movement, but its a whole other beast to do the movement properly.

Sill have so much to learn and to practice but regardless... I'm enjoying the process.

bottom of page